A Sound of Thunder

Formation, EP and Single (2009-2010)

Formed in 2008 by founding members Josh Schwartz (on guitar) and Chris Haren (on drums), the band went through several early line-up changes before recruiting vocalist Nina Osegueda (formerly of another DC area metal band) in October 2009. In late 2009 the band recorded their self-titled debut EP, with former bassist Chris Willett back in a session capacity. The band soon recruited bassist David Matine and recorded a benefit single for the West Memphis 3, which received press and acclaim from both the WM3 website and Motorhead. David Matine left the band in early 2010 and was replaced by Ben Washburn on bass. The band began gigging extensively around the Washington DC area with Washburn on bass, and began recording what would become their first full length album, Metal Renaissance. Washburn left the band in summer 2010 before completing the album, and Jesse Keen was recruited to act as both bassist and keyboard player. The band played mostly local shows and opened for various touring bands. They also played Flight of the Valkyries in Baltimore, MD.

Nina Osegueda
Nina Osegueda from A Sound of Thunder

Metal Renaissance (2011)

In March 2011, the band released their first full length album, Metal Renaissance. The album included an instrumental intro by local folk group Painted Trillium ,and was recorded on tape in an attempt to capture a classic analog sound. Bassists Ben Washburn and Jesse Keen both perform on the album. The band continued to play local shows, but also travelled to Chicago forDame-Nation, a female fronted metal festival similar to Flight of the Valkyries.

Out of the Darkness (2012)

A Sound of Thunder decided to go in a different direction with their second album, Out of the Darkness. The band hired Kevin “131” Gutierrez, known for being a multi platinum award winning producer and having worked with Shinedown, O.A.R, Johnny Cash, and Raven. They recorded the album at Gutierrez’ own studio, Assembly Line Studios in Northern Virginia. The band intended on releasing the album independently, but was suddenly contacted by Lance King and Nightmare Records days before their intended release date. After postponing the release, in coordination with the label, Out of the Darkness was finally released by Nightmare Records and Sony/RED on March 27, 2012. Having included a track with guest vocalist John Gallagher of the legendary heavy metal band, Raven, both the album and the band received more publicity than ever before. Out of the Darkness was released with rave reviews from various blogs, heavy metal websites, About.com, and The Washington Post. In addition to the album, the band also released their first music video for “Murderous Horde”. The video, which featured Nina Osegueda and a black Burmese python named “Chubby”, received over five thousand views in its first week. This was followed by a video for “Kill That Bitch”.

Time’s Arrow & Queen of Hell (2013)

In 2013, A Sound of Thunder released an EP (Queen of Hell) and an album (Time’s Arrow), both on CD and vinyl through Mad Neptune Records. The album and EP were partially funded by a successful KickStarter campaign that raised $9,539, $1,539 over their initial $8,000 goal.

The Lesser Key of Solomon (2014)

In 2014, A Sound of Thunder continued to create another KickStarter campaign to help fund a 4th album, “The Lesser Key of Solomon”. The campaign raised $23,375, $13,375 over their initial $10,000 goal. The album was released on September 9th and made 39th place in the Billboard (magazine) Heatseeker’s Chart.

In July 2014 A Sound of Thunder was one of the 8 bands to perform at the inaugural Women of Metal Fest

Band members

Current members
  • Nina Osegueda — vocals, lyricist
  • Josh Schwartz — guitar, primary composer
  • Jesse Keen — bass guitar, keyboards
  • Chris Haren— drums, percussion
Former members
  • Ben Washburn (2010)— bass guitar
  • Chris Willett (2008) — bass guitar
  • Nathan Matzinger (2009) – vocals
  • TJ Marstiller (2009)- bass guitar


Studio albums
  • Metal Renaissance (2011)
  • Out of the Darkness (2012)
  • Time’s Arrow (2013)
  • The Lesser Key of Solomon (2014)
  • A Sound of Thunder (2010)
  • Queen of Hell (2013)
  • “Justice At Last” (2010)

Facebook Comments