September 2014 Band of the Month Candidates

Amberian Dawn


Amberian Dawn is a Finnish metal band that honed their trademark sound with expert precision, making highly polished albums of symphonic melodic metal. Their songs and unique style are sure to be heralded as future classics by fans of the genre. The music is based on songwriting of the founder member of the band, guitar & keyboard virtuoso, Tuomas Seppälä.

They’ve brought more songs to the Rock Band Network than any other band, and have become a fan favorite. That’s why Harmonix, the game developer have chosen them as the Rock Band Network Artist of the Month for July 2011.

Amberian Dawn have released four studio albums since 2008 and during these years they have already toured in Europe three times with bands like Epica, Van Canto, Tristania, done several festival shows and opened for bands like Kamelot and Dream Evil. Their latest studio album Circus Black (2012), is widely appraised with excellent reviews by critics all over the world.

In 2013 they released a re-recorded compilation album Re-Evolution with their new singer, Capri.

Year 2014 started with a new record deal with Napalm Records. Magic Forest album was released in June 2014.

Noisy Toyz


Noisy Toyz are a female fronted, Symphonic rock band from Hampshire/London.

Noisy Toyz music is inspired from many genres including Musicals and rock.pop music and blends rock guitar,synths and orchestra in their own unique style.
Building on the success of “The Fate of Dreams”, Noisy Toyz have now released their fourth album,” Forever One”. This album features the vocal talent of Lisa Axworthy, who has a musical and opera background. The album features symphonic orchestral hook lines to add to the theatrical edge,along with the melting pot of synth atmospheres, 7-string wall of guitar sound and drum grooves. so all people should enjoy this feast of Symphonic rock
Get your free download of the song “save me” from the album on our profile page now !!

The Hourglass


The Hourglass is a symphonic/gothic/industrial metal band, formed by Alma Vomastek (vocals, keyboards, songwriting, lyrics), Bogdan Mara (drums) and Vlad Negrea (guitar), in the city of Cluj-Napoca, Romania. The name was carefully chosen to represent a connection between old and new, classical and modern (musically speaking) and also, to keep a general idea that everything that has a beginning, also has an end.

The band started as a studio project, having only a 4-5 songs demo recording in plan. The main reason to start this way is that a band cannot aim high or represent any interest to the local scene until there are at least some demo quality songs to be presented to the local public on social networks (Facebook, Reverbnation or Myspace).
The goal of The Hourglass was to create something new, something that could combine different genres into a new sound. After many musical experiments in songwriting regarding subjects, atmosphere and sounds used, the band crystallized a sound represented by heavy guitars and strong rhythmics, symphonic and industrial keyboard sounds, all combined with a classical soprano voice. A symphonic/industrial metal hybrid.

On the 30th of December 2011,The Hourglass released online the first self-produced studio material, “Requiem”, a 5 songs demo that represents a mixture of feelings, harmonies and styles. Mircea Petreus joined the crew with his bass skills right before the last two songs were recorded. From a ballad (In Remembrance) to a strong industrial metal influenced song (The Fall), they tried to explore the strongest human beliefs and feelings.

The spring of 2012 brings the last missing member in the band: Ioana Dirva, a pianist drawn by the idea of playing on a synthesizer and trying a different musical approach. After a strong live debut as an opening act for Theatres des Vampires (Italy) in Cluj-Napoca on the 20th of April 2012, one of the founding members, Vlad Negrea (guitar) left the band for personal reasons, followed by Mircea Petreus (bass), three months later. Even so, the formula of five was completed quick, without affecting the band’s rehearsals schedule and upcoming concerts. With Andrei Buciuta (guitar) and Traian Toderean (bass), The Hourglass was complete again, ready to rock the local stage (and more) with the new members and songs.

The end of 2013 comes with line-up changes: Andrei and Traian left the band due to the tight schedule of their studies, to be replaced in a short time by none other than Vlad Negrea, who takes the guitarist role once again, joining the band together with a new friend: Cristian Florea (the bassist of Shadowsail).

The Hourglass’s debut album, “Through Darkness And Light” was released on the 28th of March 2014, so let’s see what this will  bring to the table for this band!

Facebook Comments