Nightwish Make Floor Jansen Permanent Vocalist, Troy Donockley Full Member Of Band


Finnish symphonic metal band has officially named Floor Jansen (ReVamp) permanent vocalist of the band. In addition, Troy Donockley – the purveyor of uilleann pipes on the latest tour – has now been made an official full time member. Jansen was the fill in vocalist following the departure of Anette Olzon just weeks into the band’s North American tour with Kamelot in the Fall of 2012.

The statement from the band reads:

“Ms. Floor Jansen is a keeper.

“Also, we will be a six-piece band from now on, as Mr. Troy Donockley (uilleann pipes, low whistles, vocals) will become a full-time member of NIGHTWISH.

“Originally we were going to wait until 2014 to make a decision about the future line-up of the band, but the past year has clearly shown us that Floor and Troy are perfect matching pieces to our puzzle, and we are really grateful of the bond that has grown between all of us. We love you guys.

“Tuomas, Marco, Jukka, Emppu”

Floor Jansen commented: “Words cannot describe what I feel! This union is beyond everything and I cannot tell you how wonderful it is to continue this amazing journey with my new brothers! Once I had a dream…and this is it!!!”

Troy Donockley added: “`Imaginaerum World Tour´was a revelation to me and in that time, I became aware of a growing unity and then, finally, a transcendence of all the usual nonsense that affects bands. A beautiful process. And since the idea, the musical dream that is Nightwish has been a part of me since before I was born, I am delighted to officially sail into uncharted waters with my brothers and sister. Wondrous scenes Ahoy! ”

The new line-up can be seen on the live/tour documentary DVD “Showtime, Storytime,” which is scheduled for release November 29th. The DVD captures the band’s performance at the Wacken Open Air Festival in Germany this past summer.

The track list for the 2CD/2DVD/Blu Ray release is:

1. Dark Chest Of Wonders
2. Wish I Had An Angel
3. She Is My Sin
4. Ghost River
5. Ever Dream
6. Storytime
7. I Want My Tears Back
8. Nemo
9. Last Of The Wilds
10. Bless The Child
11. Romanticide
12. Amaranth
13. Ghost Love Score
14. Song Of Myself
15. Last Ride Of The Day
16. Outro (Imaginaerum)

Check out the latest trailer for the release here:


Louna (Profile)


No other rock group in Russia has exploded onto the music scene quite as rapidly as Louna.  Formed in 2008 by Tracktor Bowling lead singer Lousine Gevorkian and bassist Vitaly Demidenko, the idea behind Louna was to pursue wider musical ideas that didn’t fit in with their original band. They recruited guitarists Rouben Kazariyan and Sergey Ponkratiev, and drummer Leonid Kinzbursky.

After the release of their first EP which lyrically focused on the many modern social problems that exist, they were quickly named the 2009 Best New Artist of the Year at the annual Russian Alternative Music Prize (RAMP) awards.

They released their first album, “Let’s Get Louder” in December of 2010, selling out every venue during their first national tour supporting the album. Two singles, “Fight Club” and “Let’s Get Louder” reached #1 on the Russian radio charts, with “Fight Club” remaining in the top 10 for a record-breaking 16 weeks and also winning Rock Song of the Year at the 2012 Nashe Awards. Along with this, Louna was nominated for Breakthrough Artist and Solo Performance of the year. Their second album, “The Time of X,” released in February of 2012 has already produced a #1 single, “Mama,” and their most recent single “People Looking Up” entered the top 10.  In January of 2013, their album “The Time of X” was nominated for Album of the Year and Lousine Gevorkian was also nominated for Female Vocalist of the Year for the 2013 Nashe Awards.  In February 2013 at the Nashe Awards Ceremony in Moscow, Russia, Lousine Gevorkian was named the 2012 Female Vocalist of the Year for Russia.

Louna has played every major festival throughout Russia, and always on the main stage. In late 2012, they were invited to perform as one of the main headliners at the 50th anniversary concert festival honoring Russian rock legend Victor Tsoi of the band Kino, playing to audiences of over 15,000 people in both Moscow and St. Petersburg.

Louna’s reputation extends beyond their musicality to include the focus of their personal passions as found in their lyrics and actions.  They are the most commercially successful rock band of the modern protest movement (of which Pussy Riot has become the most internationally renowned). They donated their song “The Time of X” to the White Album project raising funds for Pussy Riot’s support and defense.  MTV USA came to Moscow in October of 2012 and featured Louna in an upcoming multi-part Rockumentary about protest musicians around the world called “Rebel Music” which will air on MTVU in the Fall of 2013.

Their debut international CD, “Behind A Mask,” features 10 of the band’s best songs from their first two albums and have been painstakingly adapted into English by American producer and lyricist Travis Leake (the SLoT). The album was mixed by renowned producer/engineer Dan Korneff (Breaking Benjamin, The Pretty Reckless, Papa Roach, My Chemical Romance, Paramore) and mastering duties were handled by the legendary Ted Jensen of Sterling Sound, New York.

Lou Gevorkian (Louna) on The Women of Metal Show 10/10/2013

Lousine Gevorkian
Lousine (Lou) Gevorkian

Perhaps the most explosive female rock vocalist in all of Russia. Lousine Gevorkian is known for her emotional vocal performances and her ability to truly connect with the audience.

Born in Soviet controlled Armenia, her parents moved to a small town near Moscow when she was 7 years old where she began studying music. After high school she knew she needed to get to Moscow and the only way she could afford it was to enroll in a state run college–any college–to take advantage of the opportunity to live in the dorms.

Shortly thereafter, she started singing in a local rock band and soon was invited to front the long-established legendary underground rock band Tracktor Bowling. After joining Tracktor Bowling the band won the 2006 RAMP Award for Best Alternative Band.

In 2008, Lou, along with Tracktor Bowling bassist Vit Demidenko, decided to create a new side-project to explore a different style of music and lyrics which didn’t fit with the established style and character of their current band, and thus Louna was born.

Lou devotes a great deal of her time teaching upcoming vocalists to improve their craft by giving lessons to nearly anyone who seems serious in their intentions to learn, and even features a great many of them in her videos and arranges for their bands to tour with them throughout Russia to help them get their starts. Over the last year Lou has performed numerous charity benefit concerts to support Russia’s innumerable orphans and other children in dire need of medical care which is otherwise not available from the state run health care system.


Louna is an Alternative/Punk rock band, formed in Moscow in 2008 by Tracktor Bowling musicians Lousine (Lou) Gevorkian and Vitaly Demidenko.

Their debut album, Sdelay Gromche!, was released in 2010. In total, the group has released three albums and six singles to date.

The band is best known for its socially conscious songs criticizing Russian political elitesand religion. Louna’s songs are frequently found on Russian radio and rock charts.

Louna is composed of members Lousine Gevorkian (vocals), Vitaly Demidenko (bass), Sergey Ponkratiev(guitars), Rouben Kazariyan (guitar) and Leonid “Pilot” Kinzbursky (drums).