In This Moment

inthismomentIn This Moment is an American metalcore band from North Hollywood, California. Formed in 2005, the group has released three albums to date, all through Century Media Records.


In August 2005, singer Maria Brink and guitarist Chris Howorth met through some common friends. After becoming acquainted, and finding that there was much in common between them, they began writing songs together. Soon thereafter they enlisted the help of Los Angeles drummer Jeff Fabb and formed the band Dying Star. Unhappy with where the band was headed, they decided to take on a new musical direction. By mid-2005, the lineup included Brink, Howorth, Fabb, guitarist Blake Bunzel, and bassist Josh Newell. The band recorded demos and posted them on MySpace, where they generated an internet following. The demos included rough versions of “Ashes”, “The Legacy of Odio”, “Next Life”, “This Moment”, and “Prayers”, as well as a cover of Slayer’s “Postmortem”. During the winter of 2005, Newell departed from the band to focus on his other project, Ketaset, as well as his audio engineering work. Producer Pascual Romero (currently in Tinhorn) was then the bassist for a time before friend of the band Jesse Landry was eventually tapped to round out the band permanently. Rob “Blasko” Nicholson, the bassist for Ozzy Osbourne became the band’s manager after discovering them through MySpace.

Beautiful Tragedy (2006-2008)

By the end of the 2005, In This Moment had generated a fanbase through internet marketing and do-it-yourself touring. This sparked an interest from Century Media Records, and a worldwide record deal followed. The band released their debut album Beautiful Tragedy on March 20, 2007, backed by the singles “Prayers”, and title track “Beautiful Tragedy”. The album was produced by Eric Rachel and combined sounds of metalcore and hard rock while the lyrics drew from Brink’s personal experiences about abandonment and tragedies. The vocals on the songs alternates between Brink’s singing and screaming.

The quick success of the album pushed In This Moment on a few high profile tours including The Hottest Chicks in Metal Tour 2007 with Lacuna Coil, Ozzfest in the summers of 2007 and 2008, Megadeth, and the Rob Zombie and Ozzy Osbourne tour.

The band also teamed up with Manntis for the cover of Lacuna Coil’s “Heaven’s a Lie”, part of “Century Media Records: Covering 20 Years of Extreme” cover album.

“Prayers”, from the album Beautiful Tragedy, was featured on The Hills Have Eyes 2 Soundtrack. The soundtrack was released on July 17, 2007 by Bulletproof Records.

The Dream (2008-2009)

In This Moment released their second album entitled The Dream on September 30, 2008, with the lead off single “Forever”. The album received mostly positive reviews and marked the band’s debut on the Billboard Top 200, debuting at #73 in its first week of release. The album was produced by Kevin Churko and featured a less heavy approach, with a bigger focus on clean vocals from Brink.

To support the release, the band went on tour with Five Finger Death Punch, Mudvayne, Papa Roach, and Filter. They also appeared on the Give It a Name tour in the UK and were on the 2009 Warped Tour line-up, playing on the Ernie Ball Stage. They’ve also played at Download Festival 2009 in Donington UK.

The song “Forever” has been released as a downloadable track for the Harmonix Rock Band games.

The second single off “The Dream” is a cover of Blondie’s “Call Me”. The cover appears on the special edition of the album ‘Ultraviolet’ to coincide with Warped Tour, which included unreleased tracks and acoustic performances.

 A Star Crossed Wasteland (2010-present)

In the fall of 2009, Maria Brink and Chris Howorth announced that the band has begun writing for the next album which will be darker and heavier. Brink revealed the album title A Star-Crossed Wasteland on her official site in February.

After being named the Hottest Chick in Metal at the Revolver Golden God awards in April 2010, Maria Brink stated in an interview that A Star-Crossed Wasteland will be released on July 13, 2010. The album’s first single, “The Gun Show” was released to iTunes and premiered on their MySpace on June 1, 2010, and their Facebook a few days later. The band premiered another song, “Just Drive” on their official Facebook page on July 3, 2010. The album sold 10,500 copies, debuting at #40 which is the band’s highest chart performance to date.

In the summer of 2010, the band played Mayhem Festival 2010 alongside bands, Korn, Rob Zombie, Five Finger Death Punch, Hatebreed, Shadows Fall and many more.

On September 24, 2010 In This Moment officially released a video for the single, “The Promise”, shot and directed by David Brodsky.

On November 21, 2010, it was announced that In This Moment would play alongside Sevendust, Disturbed and Korn in the Music As A Weapon 5 tour. Some shows were canceled at the end of the first leg of the tour due to illness of Disturbed singer David Draiman. The second leg of the tour continued as scheduled.

On February 13, 2011, TNA Wrestling used “The Gun Show” as the theme song for the Against All Odds Pay-per-view, and they later used it again as the new theme for their show Xplosion.

In May 2011, In This Moment posted on Facebook that they are working on new material for a new album hoping for a 2012 release. It appears that this new release will be recorded without founding members Jeff Fabb and Blake Bunzel, who are both working with James Durbin as of September, 2011.

Facebook Comments